Reflection 9: Smartboard

I think Smartboards are such a great tool in the classroom. It is important for teachers to know how to use them and I am glad I was able to get that experience. Most teachers Smartboards just sit in their room and take up space. I think it is such an interesting tool to be able to have kids interactive in their learning. The different tactics we learned about how the Smartboard works can really be useful in my student teaching next semester. My teacher this past semester has helped me learn some but not nearly everything I need. I hope now I am able to teach her what I have learned through the presentation we had. I think the most interesting thing we learned about how to use it was that you can throw the balls at it to interact with it. I had never known that you could use anything but the pen to interact with it. 

Image

Although I think Smartboards are great they are starting to not be used as much anymore. Many schools are getting even newer technology that teachers are going to have to learn now. The Smartboard also has many things that can be difficult for teachers. My teacher has a problem when it comes to writing on the board. It seems that writing on the whiteboard is a lot easier. I would not want the Smartboard to take up time that isn’t nessesary during a lesson. She would write and have to fix it because things wouldn’t show up correctly. This took time out of her lesson and I cannot help but think the same thing would happen to me. I would need to test it out in lessons before I could decide if I thought it was really useful or not. I did really enjoy the tutorial we had on the board though.   Image 

Leave a comment