Reflection 7: Stop Animation

I thought the app that we picked for our project was a great tool that could be used in education. I think kids do not look up words enough because dictionaries are so difficult and time consuming to use. I think kids would enhance their vocabulary and reading skills by using the Oxford Picture Dictionary app. I think putting technology into all students education really helps them get excited about what they are learning. When kids get to pull out their phones or tablets it makes them feel more into the lesson they are doing. I would absolutely use this app in my own classroom. When middle school students are beginning to read books with more challenging vocabulary they will simply skip over it. I think this app would really help students want to look up words and feel excited about them. 

I think not only our app we choose is great for classrooms but many others and many websites as well. I am excited to look into the ones that other students used in class as well. They all looked as if they could be extremely useful. I think all technologies such as these are very useful in classrooms today. Because kids are digital natives these technologies are so normal to them that I feel they need to be included in a lesson because they are the easiest way for studnets to learn. I really enjoyed getting a look at all of the other groups presentations because it really gave me so many different new things to use to make sure I have technology in almost every lesson.   

I really enjoyed becoming familiar with the stop animation technique. It was not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. Taking the pictures was the hardest part because you had to make sure you got a picture of each little movement. I was very happy with our final video because of the difficulty we had with the pictures. I would give someone who was trying it the advice that they should get a camera with a fast lens so that it can snap each movement quick. It would make it so much easier to make sure the pictures were exactly what you needed. I think this is a great technique to be familiar with and a great one to use with students. I am really happy we were able to learn it.

Image

Image  

3 thoughts on “Reflection 7: Stop Animation

  1. This is a great post, Tori! I really agree with you on the advice that a camera with faster capture capabilities would’ve been a great help in the stop animation project. My group would’ve have benefitted greatly from such a camera!

  2. You did a great job explaining the process of your stop animation experience. You and your group had a great idea with your app. It is very helpful to all audiences and is very useful. People always have trouble with words and the meaning of it. Definately an app that I need!

  3. I think this app is so useful! People everywhere every day can use this app, so I think your stop animation was great! Taking pictures was also the biggest struggle for me and my group. Some of our pictures were blurry because of the movement, so we probably should have used a better camera!

Leave a comment