Augmented Reality

I was very interested to hear about augmented reality when Tim spoke to the class. I can see from the articles and his lecture that it could really be something useful for my future classroom and even my own education. There are many pros using augmented reality. One is the aspect that you can live in moments that are not happening currently. This could be such a great tool for a social studies classroom. When Tim talked about the tours with virtual pictures and flyers I was really interested and thought a lot about how I could use that app or similar things. It would be great to incorporate that in to any classroom not only social studies. I also really like the fact that Tim mentioned that the app can enable anyone, even beginners, to create augmented reality learning materials for the classroom. Including the future of these kids education which is virtual technology and real world aspects can absolutely add so many things to students education.

Not only does the fact that augmented reality add the aspect of technology to the classroom but it uses the virtual world and actual world together. This can really round out lessons that I may teach in the future. I loved being able to read the articles about augmented reality in education. The one about the project that a teachers student’s did using augmented reality. Having a class create an app would be something I would love to do. I loved that they were able to create an interactive exhibition on the history of game design. I had never really heard about this type of learning before and this really opened my eyes to it. It is amazing how far we have come with education. It was cool to see students using a new nontraditional type of learning that really engages students.

It was also interesting to hear the other side of this aspect of education. Many people believe that it is a passing trend and this really interested me. I always think about the opposite view of things and it was great to be able to hear this one. People argue that this is still a new emerging technology and that we do not know everything that we should before using it. I do see what one of the articles said and it really interested me thinking about the fact that although these technologies are used so often and even in the classroom they are relatively new. I really enjoyed learning about this and look forward to learning more about augmented reality throughout this semester.

Image  

One thought on “Augmented Reality

  1. Tori I think this is an excellent article. Do you think older learning tools such as textbooks and overhead use should be limited? I enjoyed the read.

Leave a comment