Horizon Report

            I thought the horizon report was very interesting as a future educator. I did agree with the trends listed in it. One that I really felt is a big trend in the technology that educators are using is a tablet. My dad is actually getting me one for my birthday to use in the classroom. We have been learning so many applications to use in the classroom in all of my education classes lately. I think they are so useful to post up on the smart board and have an interactive class using it. I also really agree that games are going to soon become a huge trend in education. We have been learning about that also. That is one thing I want to work on learning so I can soon learn about it. I want to use this in my own classroom some day.

             I absolutely think that some of the challenges mentioned are real. I think that just using technology is not enough. It does the students no good using technology if it is not engaging them and helping them gain a deeper understanding of the topic. Just using technology is not enough. It is there to make the teacher’s job easier but not only that. It helps students as well and if you aren’t using it to help them then it is not worth it. I think one solution to this problem would be just to be conscious as the teacher. We need to make sure that we are using technology to help students and not ourselves. If the technology makes it easier for you but doesn’t help engage students on a deeper level then we need to rethink the use of that technology.

               I think the wearable technologies are the most interesting technology to watch. I have seen many things on the google glass. I think that is something I absolutely want to try and see when it becomes more common in the classroom. I think the glasses are such a cool idea and could absolutely be used for so many different things in the future. I think that these reports are such a great thing for teachers to look at. I would love to keep up with them once I have my own classroom. 

 

Image

One thought on “Horizon Report

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I think sometimes teachers get lost in the fact that these technologies are not for them, but for the kids. Do you think tablets are better than actual print, such as textbooks?

Leave a comment